TP2 and Canon i960

Questions on Installation
Post Reply
thinman
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 1:50 am

TP2 and Canon i960

Post by thinman » Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:07 am

Installed TP2 and it installed; however, I can't print out anything.

Keep getting the below message:

Spooler Message:
"Unable to connect to CIFS host, will
retry in 60 seconds..."

Can PING from the Ubuntu box to the WinXP box.....
NETSTAT returns----CUPS tcp/631 Listen
SMB tcp/139 Listen
CIFS tcp/445 Listen

Printer Service(CUPSYS) is "checked" under Admin\services\services setting

From the TP Control Center, clicked on Status Monitor; shows
"Queue= tp0 - Canon_i960

Connection is shown as Windows Network Printer

Click the "Edit" button TP-CC, "Test Server Connection" button,
returns the correct IP of the XP box and states that a connection
was successful to the a port ( no port # shown)

Have no idea what I'm doing or supposed to be looking for.
Originally purchased TP ver. 1 sometime this year and it was
working fine. Didn't print for quite some time and in the mean
time, numerous Ubuntu ( 7.10 ) updates have been installed.
I can remember seeing some for CUPS but have no idea what
they entailed.

Just want to be able to print from Ubuntu !!!!!! Help !!!!!

ray

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1777
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Post by zedonet » Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:15 am

Hello thinman,

can you please check what "URI" is entered as connection in the printer setup in TurboPrint Control Center? Probably you have chosen the SMB Protocol, so the URI should start with "SMB://...".

thinman
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 1:50 am

Post by thinman » Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:29 am

OK, I went to TPCC, clicked on 'Edit', clicked 'Other Printer',
'Windows Network Printer', Server= SMB://Giggy4/ , and I
wind up with the following error message:

Spooler Message:
Unable to connect to CIFS Host, will retry in 60 seconds...!

Using the "Test Server Connection" returns "Server Not Found".

If I key in -- Server=192.168.1.103 (with all other fields blank) ,
using the 'Test Server Connection' ,returns -- 'Successfully
connected to port'. Can also fill in the 'Printer' field with Canon_i960
(w/192.168.1.103 in the Server field) and get the same message.

In the Printer Name box, it shows Canon_i960 with Short Name of
'tp0'.

Have tried using "USB001" as the Print Queue on Server type as
XP shows the printer as being connected to a Virtual Printer Port
for USB. This doesn't work.

Other messages I've gotten are:

CUPS Server Error
There was an error during the CUPS operation: 'server-
error-service unavailable'

Spooler Message:
'Backend/usr/lib/cups/backend///giggy4/does not exist!'

Have tried the latest version TP 2.06 and still no luck.

At least with the original version of TP that I tried/purchased,
I could print without any problems. Then , with subsequent updates
to 7.10 , I found that I couldn't print.

Reading thru other posts on other Ubuntu forums, I even
downloaded and installed CUPS.

Tried to reload the original TP version I purchased and it won't
even work.

Ray

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1777
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Post by zedonet » Tue Nov 18, 2008 10:00 am

Hello,

probably the host "Giggy4" is unknown to your linux computer. You can test this with the shell command:

ping Giggy4

(You can stop the output with ctrl+C after some seconds)

If you know the IP-address of the windows computer, you could try to enter it directly as hostname. First try to "ping" this address to make sure it is reachable.

carusoswi
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 6:23 pm

Re: TP2 and Canon i960

Post by carusoswi » Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:56 pm

Did you try configuring your printer?
I'm no expert, but received a message similar to yours until I opened up TurboPrint Control and added the printer. Don't know if this was the source of the problem, but I also have the i960 and am delighted to finally be able to use it to get beautiful prints from Ubuntu 8.10 and GIMP.

Let us know how this works out for you.

Caruso
thinman wrote:Installed TP2 and it installed; however, I can't print out anything.

Keep getting the below message:

Spooler Message:
"Unable to connect to CIFS host, will
retry in 60 seconds..."

Can PING from the Ubuntu box to the WinXP box.....
NETSTAT returns----CUPS tcp/631 Listen
SMB tcp/139 Listen
CIFS tcp/445 Listen

Printer Service(CUPSYS) is "checked" under Admin\services\services setting

From the TP Control Center, clicked on Status Monitor; shows
"Queue= tp0 - Canon_i960

Connection is shown as Windows Network Printer

Click the "Edit" button TP-CC, "Test Server Connection" button,
returns the correct IP of the XP box and states that a connection
was successful to the a port ( no port # shown)

Have no idea what I'm doing or supposed to be looking for.
Originally purchased TP ver. 1 sometime this year and it was
working fine. Didn't print for quite some time and in the mean
time, numerous Ubuntu ( 7.10 ) updates have been installed.
I can remember seeing some for CUPS but have no idea what
they entailed.

Just want to be able to print from Ubuntu !!!!!! Help !!!!!

ray

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1777
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Post by zedonet » Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:15 pm

Hello,

the URI for a Windows printer should look like

smb://server/printer

where "server" is the network name of the Windows computer and "printer" is the share name of the printer queue.

In the thread http://www.turboprint.info/support/viewtopic.php?t=389
I explained how to debug the network printer setup if necessary:

From a command line ("Terminal" window) enter

Code: Select all

echo "hello" | smbclient //server/printer -c "print -"
this will send the text "hello" to the printer "printer" on server "server" (change "server" and "printer" to the server name and printer share name on your network).

The printer will not print but you should see if the connection works (e.g. hold the print queue on XP and check if a print job appears.

If this works, printing should also work via Turboprint - in TurboPrint Setup, choose "Remote Windows" as connection, enter the "server" name and the "printer" name and "guest" as "user name".

Post Reply