Orange dot with white line, what???

Questions on certain printers and applications
DonEBray

Orange dot with white line, what???

Post by DonEBray »

I am new to Ubuntu and Turboprint and am unable to get a printed page from my Canon iP4200. It works fine with the Mac on the other machine. When I first installed Ubuntu the canon printer printed one page, but nothing since. It builds a backlog. I am curious if the orange dot with the white line through it at the lower right of the printer is indicative of an error message.

Should also mention that I am connected via Airport Express, which is working fine.

Thanks in advance,

Don Bray
DonEBray

Re: Orange dot with white line, what???

Post by DonEBray »

Think that the orange dot simply means that the printer is busy, which would indicate that it has not received a "end of print" message.
Now, the question is, how do I fix that and get the printer to restart?

Thanks,

Don Bray
zedonet
Site Admin

Post by zedonet »

Hello,

do you mean that the orange LED on the printer flashes, but nothing is printed? It seams that data transmission to the printer is blocked.

Can you please try the following:

1. Make sure that the "TP-USB" Backend has been chosen in TurboPrint Control Center. Open TurboPrint Control and check if the column "URI" starts with "tpu..." and not with "usb...". If it starts with "usb...", click on "Edit" and choose the port entry "Canon iP4200 ... TP-USB" and click on "OK" to save the configuration.

2. If you still have printing problems, try the following (only if you have some experiences with a text editor and altering system files as superuser):
Edit the file

/etc/turboprint/system.cfg

and add the line "USB_MODE=0". In case this line was already present (e.g. USB_MODE=1) just alter it.
DonEBray

Post by DonEBray »