Printing from GIMP - Dialog box changed

Questions on certain printers and applications
Post Reply
LML
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:22 pm

Printing from GIMP - Dialog box changed

Post by LML » Mon Sep 26, 2016 6:24 pm

Helllo,

Help please?

I've been printing from GIMP for a very long time. Same printer. Same laptop.

I choose the image and then go to >File >Turboprint.

It used to bring up a dialog box that allowed me to choose papers etc. Now it brings up a dialog box I've never seen before. I've attached the image. What is this? How do I get back to my old dialog box? What happened?

Help? I have a customer order to print today and I'm going bananas with this problem.

Thank you!
Attachments
turboprintproblem92616.jpg
sample of odd dialog box
turboprintproblem92616.jpg (190.07 KiB) Viewed 4796 times

LML
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:22 pm

Re: Printing from GIMP - Dialog box changed

Post by LML » Mon Sep 26, 2016 6:43 pm

Important note: I always keep at least one of my old laptops as a backup system. I dusted it off and tried printing the image from it. It found the right dialog box just as I was used to seeing for Turboprint from Gimp. That old laptop has had no updates in ages. My current laptop - the one where my dialog box changed - does get system updates. Is that a clue?

LML
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:22 pm

Re: Printing from GIMP - Dialog box changed

Post by LML » Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:16 pm

Does anyone know what caused the dialog box to change - and importantly - how I can change it back? I presently can't print from my main production computer until I fix this issue.

Thank you.

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1777
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Re: Printing from GIMP - Dialog box changed

Post by zedonet » Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:57 am

Hello,

we got this problem reported once about one year ago. The customer solved it in the end but I am not sure what exactly solved it. We thought it was

1) the version of GIMP (in this case it was an unstable GIMP 2.9 release) and recommended to downgrade to GIMP 2.8. However I could not reproduce the problem with my installation of GIMP 2.9.

2) Also I suspected that the GTK theme "Libra" could have caused the problem.

3) Also a corrupt TurboPrint configuration file might have been the reason.

Before downgrading GIMP or changing the GTK theme you can try to delete the TurboPrint-GIMP-plugin config files:
Open a Terminal window and enter the command

rm .config/GIMP/2.8/gpturboprintrc

for GIMP 2.9:

rm .config/GIMP/2.9/gpturboprintrc

Another thing that you could try is: add a second print queue for your printer in TurboPrint Control and test if the print preview and print size is broken with both print queues.

LML
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:22 pm

Re: Printing from GIMP - Dialog box changed

Post by LML » Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:47 pm

Thanks so much for helping.

My apologies for not replying sooner - I wasn't well.

My version of GIMP is 2.8.10.

You recommended the terminal command first - I ran the one for 2.8 - but it said this:
cannot remove ‘.config/GIMP/2.8/gpturboprintrc’: No such file or directory

Is the location wrong? I'm running Linux Mint 17.3 Mate on this machine.

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1777
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Re: Printing from GIMP - Dialog box changed

Post by zedonet » Wed Oct 05, 2016 10:12 am

Sorry, the correct path for Mint 17.3 is

.gimp-2.8/gpturboprintrc

LML
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:22 pm

Re: Printing from GIMP - Dialog box changed

Post by LML » Wed Oct 05, 2016 5:45 pm

SOLVED!!

Thank you so much. I ran this line in terminal:

Code: Select all

rm .gimp-2.8/gpturboprintrc
Now the print dialog box is back the way it should be. If you ever have anyone with this problem again - I hope this will help.

Thanks for taking the time.

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1777
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Re: Printing from GIMP - Dialog box changed

Post by zedonet » Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:49 am

Thank you, but ooops - I should have told you to send me the corrupt config file. If you have the problem again, please post the file gpturboprintrc.

Post Reply