Status monitor just says switched off -

Linux distribution specific questions
Hairybiker
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:55 pm

Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by Hairybiker » Thu Apr 16, 2015 1:20 pm

But using CUPS it prints fine.
Linux Mint 17.1 64bit
Running 2.36-1
Canon IP4500 connected to usb://Canon.iP4500%20series?serial=429D26

Have tried removing, re-installing TP and updating to latest version.
Any job sent to TP just aborts doesn't print or stay in the queue.
If I use the CUPS version it prints fine.

Only thing changed in my setup is new motherboard/cpu but printer is same.

Changing the monitor to the CUPS one still says it is offline.

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1908
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by zedonet » Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:08 am

Hello,

this sounds like a USB data transmission problem.

Can you print with the CUPS driver?
What is the connection ("URI") when printing with the CUPS driver - is it exactly the same (usb://Canon.iP4500%20series?serial=429D26)?

Hairybiker
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:55 pm

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by Hairybiker » Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:34 am

Yes it prints fine using CUPS, the uri is the same.

From the CUPS web:
CUPS properties:
Description: Canon iP4500 series
Location: octo
Driver: Canon iP4500 series - CUPS+Gutenprint v5.2.10-pre2 (color, 2-sided printing)
Connection: usb://Canon/iP4500%20series?serial=429D26

TP properties:
Description: Canon_PIXMA_iP4500_(TurboPrint)
Location:
Driver: Canon_PIXMA_iP4500 TurboPrint (color, 2-sided printing)
Connection: usb://Canon/iP4500%20series?serial=429D26

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1908
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by zedonet » Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:53 am

Could you please post the log file /var/log/turboprint/print.log - the section for the last print job starting from "#### new print job" is sufficient?

Hairybiker
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:55 pm

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by Hairybiker » Fri Apr 17, 2015 9:33 am

That folder doesn't exist.
I have apt/ConsoleKit/cups & Samba but no TP folder.

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1908
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by zedonet » Fri Apr 17, 2015 1:08 pm

You could create /var/log/turboprint and make the directory "turboprint" writeable for everyone. Then print - and print.log should be created.

Hairybiker
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:55 pm

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by Hairybiker » Fri Apr 17, 2015 5:56 pm

OK made folder, tried to print this screen to the TP printer, no log created.

Code: Select all

ls
...
drwxrw-rw-  2 root   root     40 Apr 17 18:53 turboprint
...
octo log # ls turboprint/
octo log # 
Changed permissions to 777 and it seems to be trying to print now.

But status monitor still says not connected.
Log file:
#######################################################
NEW PRINT JOB Fri Apr 17 19:14:53 BST 2015 (pstoturboprint 2.30-1)
job-id 78
user hairybiker
title TurboPrint & PrintFab • View topic - Status monitor just says switched off -
copies 1
options zedoDuplexadvanced=auto zedoTAC=0 InputSlot=ButtonSelect zedoContrast=0 zedoInklimitC=0 zedoGreyToneA=0 zedoGreyToneB=0 zedoInklimitK=0 zedoInklimitM=0 zedoGamut=0 zedoUCR=0 zedoInklimitY=0 zedoBrightC=0 zedoAdjustC=0 zedoBrightness=0 zedoBrightM=0 PageSize=A4 zedoAdjustK=0 zedoShadows=0 zedoAdjustM=0 zedoMirror=0 MediaType=Plainpaper_4 zedoColorspace=0 zedoDithering=ErrorDiffusion zedoAdjustY=0 zedoCMYKspace=0 ColorModel=RGB zedoBorderlessExpand=2 zedoIntent=perception_0 number-up=1 Resolution=600x600dpi zedoRefLight=65 zedoDuplexAdjust=0 Duplex=DuplexNoTumble OutputBin=Front zedoIntensity=0 job-uuid=urn:uuid:81467809-d612-3a64-65f9-335b2097105e job-originating-host-name=localhost time-at-creation=1429294493 time-at-processing=1429294493
file
ppdfile /etc/cups/ppd/iP4500-TurboPrint.ppd
queue iP4500-TurboPrint
process info: uid=7(lp) gid=7(lp) groups=7(lp)
test directory access:
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 65536 Apr 16 14:03 /usr/share/turboprint/printers
linux-vdso.so.1 => (0x00007fffa0f10000)
libm.so.6 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libm.so.6 (0x00007f7c92a88000)
libc.so.6 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6 (0x00007f7c926c0000)
/lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x00007f7c92dc0000)
/usr/bin/tpprint -v2 -l/var/log/turboprint/print.log '--username=hairybiker' '--ppdfile=/etc/cups/ppd/iP4500-TurboPrint.ppd' --psfeatures '---zedoDuplexadvanced=auto' '---zedoTAC=0' '---InputSlot=ButtonSelect' '---zedoContrast=0' '---zedoInklimitC=0' '---zedoGreyToneA=0' '---zedoGreyToneB=0' '---zedoInklimitK=0' '---zedoInklimitM=0' '---zedoGamut=0' '---zedoUCR=0' '---zedoInklimitY=0' '---zedoBrightC=0' '---zedoAdjustC=0' '---zedoBrightness=0' '---zedoBrightM=0' '---PageSize=A4' '---zedoAdjustK=0' '---zedoShadows=0' '---zedoAdjustM=0' '---zedoMirror=0' '---MediaType=Plainpaper_4' '---zedoColorspace=0' '---zedoDithering=ErrorDiffusion' '---zedoAdjustY=0' '---zedoCMYKspace=0' '---ColorModel=RGB' '---zedoBorderlessExpand=2' '---zedoIntent=perception_0' '---number-up=1' '---Resolution=600x600dpi' '---zedoRefLight=65' '---zedoDuplexAdjust=0' '---Duplex=DuplexNoTumble' '---OutputBin=Front' '---zedoIntensity=0' '---job-uuid=urn:uuid:81467809-d612-3a64-65f9-335b2097105e' '---job-originating-host-name=localhost' '---time-at-creation=1429294493' '---time-at-processing=1429294493' /tmp/pstoturboprint4111.chunk /tmp/pstoturboprint4111.var
Searching PPD file and postscript header for options...
page size A4 overwritten by ---media=A4
duplex overwritten by ---Duplex=DuplexNoTumble
check_flag_file: opening /var/spool/turboprint/hairybiker/prv/iP4500-TurboPrint
check_flag_file: opening /var/spool/turboprint/hairybiker/sml/iP4500-TurboPrint
----------- Start of var file -----------
PDFFILE=1
GSPPDFOUND=1
GSCOLORMODE=2
GSCOLORBITS=8
GSXDPI=600
GSYDPI=600
GSWIDTH=4960
GSHEIGHT=7015
TPWIDTH=8268
TPHEIGHT=11693
TPXOFFSET=0
TPYOFFSET=0
DUPLEXMEDIA=A4
DUPLEX=0
PREVIEW=0
NOPRINT=0
BORDERLESS=0
PVXDPI=87
PVYDPI=87
PVWIDTH=719
PVHEIGHT=1017
----------- End of var file -----------
tpstdin --parsedsc result=0
GSRESULT=GPL Ghostscript Zedo2 9.05 (2012-02-08) GSVERSION=Zedo GSZEDODEVICE=1
GSCOMMANDLINE=gszedo -sDEVICE=zedo -dZCopies=1 -dZBits=24 -sZPixSize=4960x7015 -r600x600 -dSAFER -dNOPAUSE -dBATCH
TPCOMMANDLINE=/usr/bin/tpprint -a0 -e1 -s8268x11693 -p0x0 -v2 -l/var/log/turboprint/print.log '---zedoDuplexadvanced=auto' '---zedoTAC=0' '---InputSlot=ButtonSelect' '---zedoContrast=0' '---zedoInklimitC=0' '---zedoGreyToneA=0' '---zedoGreyToneB=0' '---zedoInklimitK=0' '---zedoInklimitM=0' '---zedoGamut=0' '---zedoUCR=0' '---zedoInklimitY=0' '---zedoBrightC=0' '---zedoAdjustC=0' '---zedoBrightness=0' '---zedoBrightM=0' '---PageSize=A4' '---zedoAdjustK=0' '---zedoShadows=0' '---zedoAdjustM=0' '---zedoMirror=0' '---MediaType=Plainpaper_4' '---zedoColorspace=0' '---zedoDithering=ErrorDiffusion' '---zedoAdjustY=0' '---zedoCMYKspace=0' '---ColorModel=RGB' '---zedoBorderlessExpand=2' '---zedoIntent=perception_0' '---number-up=1' '---Resolution=600x600dpi' '---zedoRefLight=65' '---zedoDuplexAdjust=0' '---Duplex=DuplexNoTumble' '---OutputBin=Front' '---zedoIntensity=0' '---job-uuid=urn:uuid:81467809-d612-3a64-65f9-335b2097105e' '---job-originating-host-name=localhost' '---time-at-creation=1429294493' '---time-at-processing=1429294493' '--ppdfile=/etc/cups/ppd/iP4500-TurboPrint.ppd' --psheader=/tmp/pstoturboprint4111.chunk --jobid=78 '--username=hairybiker' '--title=TurboPrint & PrintFab • View topic - Status monitor just says switched off -'
COMPLETEPIPE=/usr/lib/turboprint/tpstdin --paste /tmp/pstoturboprint4111.chunk | gszedo -sDEVICE=zedo -dZCopies=1 -dZBits=24 -sZPixSize=4960x7015 -r600x600 -dSAFER -dNOPAUSE -dBATCH -sOutputFile=/tmp/pstoturboprint4111.fifo - >> /var/log/turboprint/print.log
PREVIEWPIPE=
----------- Start of print job -----------
starting child process
tpprint 2.36-1 x64 (18-MAR-2015) - TurboPrint printer driver
Copyright (C)ZEDOnet GmbH, Irsee, Germany. All rights reserved.
17-Apr-2015 19:14
PPD file: /etc/cups/ppd/iP4500-TurboPrint.ppd
header file: /tmp/pstoturboprint4111.chunk
Searching PPD file and postscript header for options...
page size A4 overwritten by ---media=A4
duplex overwritten by ---Duplex=DuplexNoTumble
interpret_ps: no output file specified
::set_info_paths: setting preview file to /var/spool/turboprint/hairybiker/zmf/78.zmf
GPL Ghostscript Zedo2 9.05 (2012-02-08)
Copyright (C) 2010 Artifex Software, Inc. All rights reserved.
This software comes with NO WARRANTY: see the file PUBLIC for details.
Processing pages 1 through 1.
Page 1
Filetype=PBM Plusbits_per_pixel=32 bytes_per_line=19840 width=4960 height=7015
RGB mode 8bit
Printer=Canon_PIXMA_iP4500; Module=Canon; Id=iP4500
Colormode=2; Cartridge=0=Color; Quality=2=High; Paper=0=Plain paper
Pagesize=4=A4; Paper Input=0=Button Select; Paper Output=0=Front
Duplex=1=On (Portrait); Copies=1; Mirror=0; Dithering=0; Flip=0
Page x=4800 y=6825; AppDpi x=600 y=600; DitDpi x=600 y=600;
PrnDpi x=600 y=600; Overlay=0

tpfile::get_patchsample_table: paper=HP Home&Office paper
patches; linmode=density
table::build_gamma_table: i=0 color=4 gamma=100 max=100 saturation=100
gamma 100 max 100 saturation 100 for channel 0
correction=32767
table::build_gamma_table: i=1 color=5 gamma=100 max=100 saturation=100
gamma 100 max 100 saturation 100 for channel 1
correction=32767
table::build_gamma_table: i=2 color=6 gamma=100 max=100 saturation=100
gamma 100 max 100 saturation 100 for channel 2
correction=32767
table::build_gamma_table: i=3 color=7 gamma=100 max=100 saturation=100
gamma 100 max 100 saturation 100 for channel 3
correction=32767
shadow: 0 => adjust 100 min 50/10 max 50; grey: a=0 b=0; colorspace=APPLE; cmykspace=0; intent=perceptual; daylight = 6500K
multi_profile_switch=150 multi_c2_switch=100 multi_m2_switch=100
ucr_up=128; max_ink=638; ucr_add=0
polyfit mode=0 channels=4 terms=57 patches=528
bright_cyan_fac=0 bright_magenta_fac=0
black_fac=100 cyan_fac=46 magenta_fac=49 yellow_fac=31
printer white:l=948 a-001 b+001
printer white poly:l=948 a-001 b+001
printer black:l=233 a+006 b+030
printer black poly:l=222 a+013 b+029
printer darkest poly:l=222 a+013 b+029
black l=00 a+00 b+00 => l=222 a+013 b+029: K99 C00 M00 Y00 c00 m00 k00 g00
black94 l=06 a+00 b+00 => l=281 a+002 b+008: K76 C64 M57 Y50 c00 m00 k00 g00
black87 l=17 a+00 b+00 => l=333 a-004 b-004: K55 C67 M64 Y50 c00 m00 k00 g00
black75 l=34 a+00 b+00 => l=442 a+002 b-019: K16 C51 M62 Y49 c00 m00 k00 g00
black62 l=48 a+00 b+00 => l=547 a+001 b-018: K00 C38 M47 Y41 c00 m00 k00 g00
black50 l=60 a+00 b+00 => l=639 a+000 b-019: K00 C27 M31 Y29 c00 m00 k00 g00
black37 l=71 a+00 b+00 => l=723 a+000 b-018: K00 C19 M20 Y19 c00 m00 k00 g00
black25 l=82 a+00 b+00 => l=802 a+000 b-018: K00 C12 M12 Y11 c00 m00 k00 g00
black12 l=91 a+00 b+00 => l=877 a+000 b-017: K00 C05 M05 Y04 c00 m00 k00 g00
white l=99 a+00 b+00 => l=947 a-002 b+000: K00 C00 M00 Y00 c00 m00 k00 g00
cyan l=89 a-54 b-17 => l=789 a-140 b-198: K00 C36 M00 Y00 c00 m00 k00 g00
magenta l=64 a+87 b-52 => l=627 a+465 b-211: K00 C00 M69 Y00 c00 m00 k00 g00
yellow l=97 a-14 b+86 => l=885 a-054 b+636: K00 C00 M00 Y77 c00 m00 k00 g00
red l=58 a+77 b+70 => l=569 a+403 b+318: K00 C00 M85 Y99 c00 m00 k00 g00
green l=86 a-84 b+72 => l=735 a-300 b+434: K00 C24 M00 Y81 c00 m00 k00 g00
blue l=32 a+60 b-105 => l=441 a+175 b-409: K00 C79 M74 Y00 c00 m00 k00 g00
canon::setup_printer_info: number of channels: 4
canon_info.model_level=4
canon::setup_printer_info: multi raster mode
canon::setup_printer_info: bits per pixel: 2
canon::setup_printer_info: multiraster package size=16
canon::setup_printer_info: MP170/MX300/MG2100/iP4500/iP4600/iP5300 mode
setting info to 2 bit 3 levels for color=5
setting info to 2 bit 3 levels for color=6
Canon init string: esc(c 30 0 2 esc(J 10
esc(t 80 80 1 esc(l 33 0
esc(p 2ab 0 1e0 0

Colormatch file=PGI5CLI8; Curves=600dpi_plain_ip4200; Table=plain_paper
Report at end of pdrive_class::begin_page
Total memory usage=1511891
PREVIEW y_offset=70 org_height=7016 src_scanline=70 preview_scanline=6
calculate_dim: print left=0 top=0 width=4800 height=6825
calculate_dim: section left=80 top=70 width=4800 height=6825
check_add_logo returned 0
Printed section of picture:
left=80 top=70 width=4800 height=6825
Printer: resolution x_dpi=600 y_dpi=600 color_mode=2
Page - printable area in printer pixels:
left=80 top=70 width=4800 height=6825
Print size in printer pixels, relative to printable area:
left=0 top=0 width=4800 height=6825
Been processing for 7 min now no printing. This is a simple web page (I only asked for 1 page) should be printed immediately :?: .

EDIT: aborted @10 min wait.

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1908
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by zedonet » Tue Apr 21, 2015 4:48 pm

Can you please try the following:

1. Make sure that the "TP-USB" Backend has been chosen in TurboPrint Control Center. Open TurboPrint Control and check if the column "URI" starts with "tpu..." and not with "usb...". If it starts with "usb...", click on "Edit" and choose the port entry "Canon iP4500 ... TP-USB" and click on "OK" to save the configuration.

2. If you still have printing problems, try the following (only if you have some experiences with a text editor and altering system files as superuser):
Edit the file

/etc/turboprint/system.cfg

and add the line "USB_MODE=0". In case this line was already present (e.g. USB_MODE=1) just alter it.

Hairybiker
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:55 pm

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by Hairybiker » Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:08 am

There is NO option for "Canon iP4500 ... TP-USB" ONLY the default one, used other and changed to tp-usb:
No print, printer offline still.

Added line USB_MODE=0. No difference.

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1908
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by zedonet » Fri Apr 24, 2015 9:07 am

Strange - I have no explanation yet.

Can you print a "Nozzle Test" page from TurboPrint Control -> dialog "Toolbox"?

Hairybiker
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:55 pm

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by Hairybiker » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:59 am

Yes, it started the printer up on a nozzle check.
BUT it didn't actually print a check.

Still showing off in monitor.

Hairybiker
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:55 pm

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by Hairybiker » Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:53 am

Any further thoughts on this.

Hairybiker
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:55 pm

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by Hairybiker » Mon Jun 15, 2015 10:16 am

Thought it might be the fact I was running a newer kernel, switched back to standard but still doesn't install the TPU backend.
hairybiker@octo:~$ uname -srv
Linux 3.13.0-37-generic #64-Ubuntu SMP Mon Sep 22 21:28:38 UTC 2014
Now my support is running out, and since this is NOT working and hasn't been for the past several months I will not be renewing the contract, since the software is useless to me as is.

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1908
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by zedonet » Tue Jun 16, 2015 8:41 am

I am sorry that we could not solve the problem yet. I don't think that it is kernel related - we had no problems with kernel versions in the past. Of course your license doesn't expire - if we can solve this, you can continue to use TurboPrint.

If you are still willing to test, I would like to find out if the TurboPrint usb printer backend recognizes the printer:
Please open a "Terminal" window and enter the following commands:

lsusb

(list attached USB devices)

sudo /usr/lib/cups/backend/usb

(usb printer driver backend, standard Linux version)

sudo /usr/lib/cups/backend/tpu

(usb printer driver backend, TurboPrint version)

Note: Your login password will be requested after entering a "sudo" command.

Then please copy & paste the output in the terminal window to your reply.

One more idea: Sometimes USB switches can cause problems - make sure that the printer is connected directly to a USB port at your PC.

Hairybiker
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:55 pm

Re: Status monitor just says switched off -

Post by Hairybiker » Tue Jun 16, 2015 8:58 am

Code: Select all

octo hairybiker # lsusb
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 058f:6362 Alcor Micro Corp. Flash Card Reader/Writer
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 04a9:10c4 Canon, Inc. Pixma iP4500 Printer
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 004: ID 040b:2014 Weltrend Semiconductor 
Bus 004 Device 003: ID 045e:001d Microsoft Corp. Natural Keyboard Pro
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 0557:7000 ATEN International Co., Ltd Hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 009 Device 004: ID 05e3:0743 Genesys Logic, Inc. 
Bus 009 Device 003: ID 05e3:0616 Genesys Logic, Inc. 
Bus 009 Device 002: ID 05e3:0616 Genesys Logic, Inc. 
Bus 009 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 008 Device 005: ID 045e:0291 Microsoft Corp. Xbox 360 Wireless Receiver for Windows
Bus 008 Device 004: ID 05e3:0610 Genesys Logic, Inc. 4-port hub
Bus 008 Device 003: ID 05e3:0610 Genesys Logic, Inc. 4-port hub
Bus 008 Device 002: ID 2109:3431  
Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
octo hairybiker # /usr/lib/cups/backend/usb 
DEBUG: Loading USB quirks from "/usr/share/cups/usb".
DEBUG: Loaded 107 quirks.
DEBUG: list_devices
DEBUG: libusb_get_device_list=21
DEBUG2: Printer found with device ID: MFG:Canon;CMD:BJL,BJRaster3,BSCCe,PLI;SOJ:TXT01;MDL:iP4500 series;CLS:PRINTER;DES:Canon iP4500 series;VER:1.030;STA:20;FSI:03;HRI:OTH;MSI:AON,B30,DAT,E3; Device URI: usb://Canon/iP4500%20series?serial=429D26
direct usb://Canon/iP4500%20series?serial=429D26 "Canon iP4500 series" "Canon iP4500 series" "MFG:Canon;CMD:BJL,BJRaster3,BSCCe,PLI;SOJ:TXT01;MDL:iP4500 series;CLS:PRINTER;DES:Canon iP4500 series;VER:1.030;STA:20;FSI:03;HRI:OTH;MSI:AON,B30,DAT,E3;" ""
octo hairybiker # /usr/lib/cups/backend/tpu
direct tpu://Canon/iP4500_series/SN=429D26 "Canon iP4500 series" "Canon iP4500 series TP-USB #01" "MFG:Canon;MDL:iP4500 series TurboPrint" ""
octo hairybiker # 
With printer switched on.
Image

The printer is directly connected to the back of the pc, no hubs.
Of course your license doesn't expire - if we can solve this, you can continue to use TurboPrint.
My updates have expired and so I will not be renewing since it doesn't work.And since I reported this before it expired I will not be updating at any cost.

Post Reply