turboprint monitor problem

Luria
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:04 pm

turboprint monitor problem

Post by Luria » Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:12 pm

Hi,

I'me using turboprint for several years and since I upgraded my ubuntu distribution (9.10), I have a problem :
Printing is OK, BUT :
I have to wait for 5 minutes before printer start
Before the end of the print, a turboprint monitor window pops up, but it is blank and I can only close it
If I try to open tuboprint monitor, I have a blank window, with only a close button(not working)
so I can not see the task achievement nor see the ink level.

I purchased a new license to upgrade my turboprint to 2.16.2, but the problem remains unchanged.

Thanks for help

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1800
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Post by zedonet » Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:35 am

Hello,

is there also a delay when you open TurboPrint Control or the CUPS web frontend (web browser, address "http://localhost:631")?

Luria
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:04 pm

Post by Luria » Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:13 pm

Turboprint control window display immediately, and is fully functional (except turboprint monitor button). Cups web frontend give no response (after ten minutes, the message: " The connection has timed out" &"The server at localhost is taking too long to respond") is displayed.

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1800
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Post by zedonet » Fri Aug 27, 2010 9:46 am

This seems to be either a problem with CUPS or a network problem.

You could try if restarting the service CUPS helps:

From a "Terminal" window enter

sudo service cups stop

(your password will be requested) - then

sudo service cups start

Luria
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:04 pm

Post by Luria » Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:04 pm

I tryed that, but it gives no result (problem is the same)
About network : I have only one computer and the printer is connected to an USB port.

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1800
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Post by zedonet » Thu Sep 02, 2010 9:13 am

Looks like your CUPS spooler is having a problem. If CUPS does not respond to the address "http://localhost:631" it is not running.
Please check if CUPS is installed and try reinstalling it.

Luria
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:04 pm

Post by Luria » Thu Sep 02, 2010 7:30 pm

I have packages cups, cups-bsd, cups-client, cups-comon, cups- driver gutenprint, cupsys, cupsys-client installed.

When I launch "bootup manager", I see cups is running
Otherway, would I print anything?

And when I type in the terminal the command "sudo service cups stop" and "sudo service cups start", the answer is always "OK"

One other thing : when turboprint monitor was working, I had a window asking me to confirm the task. Actually, this window do not display anymore. Do you think the software is expecting an answer from me, and that explain the delay before printing? And if so, is it possible to disable this confirm window?

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1800
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Post by zedonet » Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:33 am

Hello,

okay, so I misinterpreted your statement "it gives no result" when startung cups daemon.
A possibility would be that there is a problem with the loopback interface needed for locally connecting via TCP. What does "ping localhost" and "ping 127.0.0.1" show in a console window?
Just press Ctrl+C after some seconds and check if any packages are lost.

TurboPrint uses this TCP addresses for connecting to CUPS, as you do when connecting to CUPS Web fronted in a browser.

Please check what the file /etc/hosts contains.
There must be an entry with "127.0.0.1 localhost".

Luria
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:04 pm

Post by Luria » Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:12 pm

So,

When I send a ping to 127.0.0.1, after some time, I have this result :
packages sent : 5
packages received 0
packages successfully received : 0%

If I send a ping to "localhost", nothing happen

In my /etc/Hosts file, I have an entry "127.0.0.1 localhost"

thank you for the time you spend to help me

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1800
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Post by zedonet » Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:30 am

Looks like your loopback interface is broken.

Please try the following commands in a shell window:

"sudo /sbin/ifconfig"
(this lists all available interfaces, probably "eth0" for the ethernet card and "lo" for the loopback interface
Is "lo" listed? What data is shown for "lo"?

then try this shell command:

"sudo /sbin/ifup lo"
This command tries to bring up the loopback interface.

If you do not get an error message after the "ifup" command, please check if the "ping 127.0.0.1" works now.

Luria
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:04 pm

Post by Luria » Thu Sep 09, 2010 7:21 pm

I tryed this, and the answer is :
eric@alpha-centauri:~$ sudo /sbin/ifconfig
[sudo] password for eric:
usb0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr ce:5b:06:9c:69:e7
inet adr:192.168.1.10 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Masque:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Packets reçus:485 erreurs:2 :0 overruns:0 frame:2
TX packets:523 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
Octets reçus:302985 (302.9 KB) Octets transmis:113232 (113.2 KB)

eric@alpha-centauri:~$ sudo /sbin/ifup lo
/sbin/ifup: couldn't read interfaces file "/etc/network/interfaces"
eric@alpha-centauri:~$

I have to precise I do not use anymore ethernet conexion fot internet (not working anymore since last ubuntu upgrade) but USB connexion to livebox

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1800
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Post by zedonet » Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:31 pm

There is definitely something wrong with your Ubuntu 9.10 installation.

To be able to print (with TurboPrint or with any other printer driver) it is essential that the "loopback" interface is working properly, as printing is done via "loopback" (a virtual network service, see also http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loopback).

I recommend to repair your Linux installation (or to make a fresh Linux installation).

Luria
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:04 pm

Post by Luria » Sun Sep 19, 2010 7:53 pm

I've just installed a new linux distribution (ubuntu 10.04)
I can now use turbo print with turboprint monitor without any problem.

But one new problem appeared : turboprint isn't anymore in the gimp printing menu (I have to use gutenprint)

Any solution?

zedonet
Site Admin
Posts: 1800
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:02 am

Post by zedonet » Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:53 am

The reason may be that the 32bit version of TurboPrint was installed, but your Linux is 64bit. It is possible to use the 32bit version, the TurboPrint GIMP plugin will not work.

Luria
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:04 pm

Post by Luria » Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:18 pm

My turboprint version, ubuntu distribution and processor are all in 32 bits

Post Reply