Can't Print to Canon PRO-100 [Solved]

SeriousAmateur

Can't Print to Canon PRO-100 [Solved]

Post by SeriousAmateur »

I've got a new installation of TurboPrint 2.45-1_amd64.deb on freshly-installed Debian 9 with KDE desktop, running GIMP and darktable, all current versions. My printer is a Canon PRO-100 on Ethernet cable that I have been using for several months, printing from Adobe Lightroom and Adobe Photoshop, and Corel AfterShot and PaintShop Pro under Windows 10 from two computers. I installed TurboPrint Studio XL a few days ago and can't get it to print a all. The lone exception was one line of text from a test print.

I cleared out the printer cue, shut off the printer, disconnected it for several seconds, and restarted it. Then I restarted Linux and waited overnight. Then, I tried to print from GIM using <Ctrl>P, <Pro-100-TurboPrint>, <select paper type, etc.>, and the printer starts to print, but immediately the TurboPrint status window says "Backend failed".

Setup is connection bjnp://192.169.1.4:8611, driver is "Current - Canon_PIXMA_Pro100 TurboPrint", no changes to setup or options other than US Letter paper size and Canon MP-101 matte photo paper. I'm using a fixed IP address for the printer because I noticed that the router would drop the user-set name and icon for the printer when TurboPrint tried to print, meaning that the printer was re-establishing its DHCP lease, not just renewing it. I hard-wired the fixed IP address into the bjnp address, as you see, on a recommendation here to another user who was having a similar problem.